books

Book Feels: Soundless by Richelle Mead

5177rxf4dfl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Soundless is about Fei, a young woman who lives in a village high up in the mountains of China. And in this village, everyone is deaf. Everyone. And they have been that way for generations. Recently people have started going blind, which as you can imagine for a people who can’t hear, not being able to see is pretty detrimental. When Fei’s own sister starts going blind she decides to do something about it.

I first found out about this book after watching an unboxing of Owlcrate on YouTube. It sounded really interesting. I finally checked it out from the library last week and I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed this read. I have never read any of Mead’s stuff before so now I’m interested to pick up Vampire Academy.

The concept is super unique and you can tell Mead did her research with both the effects of hearing loss and Chinese mythology.

It was fascinating seeing Fei come to terms with regaining her hearing after generations of her people living in silence. I liked that she couldn’t magically understand people when they used a spoken language. That was a really nice touch that made it much more realistic.

I feel like the romance was a bit forced at times and was a tad bit unnecessary. Like, it was there but it didn’t need to be there.

I really liked the inn scene. I think the characters that Fei and Li meet are SUPER interesting and I wish they had more screen time (page time?). Like, Mei is super cool. I love that she learned sign language simply because she loves to learn languages. That’s so cool! I admire people who have the dedication to learn another language.

I also want to learn more about her father. He seemed like a really interesting dude for a character that is basically just there. In the background. Not really doing anything… Ok… he doesn’t SOUND like an interesting character but TRUST me; he’s cool.

And Fei just straight up painting an EXACT replica of the broken vase in such a short period of time was freakin’ awesome. Like, Mei and her father were ready to ding dong ditch and Fei was like “Don’t worry – I got this.”

I am ALL FOR using non-survival skills to save the day.

I think my favorite part of that whole chapter though was when Fei hears music for the first time. It was a pretty amazing moment and it got me right in the feels.

I hope that there will be a sequel. I want to know what happens next. What will the Emperor do now that he doesn’t have a steady supply of silver? What does being bound to a Pixiu entail? Will Fei learn how to speak verbally? I want to know more about Mei and her father. GIVE ME MOAR.

Here is a link to Soundless on Amazon.com if you guys are interested in reading it for yourselves!

Leave a Reply

